fiction

The Girls by Emma Cline

I have been seeing this book everywhere for a while now. It was so talked about, people constantly mentioning it and it got me so excited to read it.

So I finally did, and I really enjoyed it. First of all, the writing is superb. And this was obvious from the very first sentence. It is one of the most beautiful prose I ever read. Emma Cline sets the atmosphere so well, you can almost feel the drowsy, heavy summer haze of California (and mind you, I have never been in California). But she creates this sort of lazy, almost sickly kind of air, that I was in the story from the very beginning.

If you are not aware, this is based on the Manson family murders, which going into this, I knew nothing about and still, I know nothing about, because the book doesn’t really deal with that. The only thing I knew about this book is that is based around a cult of some sorts, and that it revolves around these girls (duh).

I really enjoyed the premise. The plot is rather thin, but what Cline does with it is certainly not. I loved how our main character Evie was not obsessed with the head of this group, Russell, the sort of mystical leader that all other girls worshiped. Her obsession was with a girl from the group, and I think Cline did an amazing job portraying Evie’s fascination with Suzanne.

Another thing I loved about this is how insightful Cline is when it comes to young girls and their feelings, how they wonder about other girls, how they crave attention and approval. It was one of the things that really made me love this book.

I did love this book, but it was at times slow, always lacking something that I could not really put my finger on. The plot was sort of lack lustre, and I think that the build up to the main “event” was more interesting than the event itself.

Nonetheless, I really recommend this book, especially if you’re looking for something with amazing writing and a palpable atmosphere. Just be aware that it has a lot of mature content in it.

There you have it! Hope you enjoyed the review, and be sure to tell me if you have read or plan on reading The Girls.

xxx

*Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for providing me with a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

4 thoughts on “The Girls by Emma Cline

  1. Ugh, I really want to read this! I have Helter Skelter, which is this non-fic book about the Mansons,that I want to read as well, but a fictionalized version of these events sounds awesome. And I always love how obsessive female friendships can be, since they’re a popular topic in thrillers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

