thrillers

Kill the Next One by Federico Axat

This is why you shouldn’t give up on a book.

Way back, I saw this on NetGalley and the premise instantly caught my interest: Ted McKay has been diagnosed with a terminal brain cancer and he decides to kill himself. But a stranger appears at his door and makes him a proposition: he can kill two people who either want it or deserve it, and in return he will be killed by the next one, and his family will get more closure if he ends his life by murder.

That right there seems crazy, and it is, just like the rest of this story. The first third of the book is so muddled and convoluted that I was thinking of just giving up on this book. I decided to give it another chapter, and that’s when (at exactly 35% progress on my Kindle) this started getting so so good. And the whole beginning suddenly makes sense and it slips into place perfectly and it’s just so well done.

This is one of those psychological thrillers that is a page turner. Once it started getting good, I could not stop reading it. And everything is done so so well. The plot is engaging and for me it hit close to home, but I think this can be fascinating for just about anyone.

Axat is a really good writer. You know those dreams where you dream about regular, real-life situations, but they are just slightly skewed and weird? And then you wake up confused and scared. That’s what this book leaves you feeling. Federico Axat has this talent of creating a skin-crawling atmosphere and I had to put the book down when I was alone reading it at night, and do something else before I could continue.

The structure of the novel is also really well done and it keeps you engaged and immersed in the story.

Definitely recommend this one, especially if you’re into psychological thrillers. I am no expert on them, but this blew me away, and I am not a huge fan of thrillers, so I think that speaks enough of how good this is. If you have read this, please let me know in the comments how you’ve liked it!

*I received a review copy of this through NetGalley. All opinions stated are my own.

3 thoughts on “Kill the Next One by Federico Axat

  1. Glad to hear this one is good! I have this on my TBR and was also pulled in by how awesome it sounded. Great reveiw!

    Also, for some strange reason, you’re not showing up on my WordPress Reader, even though I’m following you??? I unfollowed you and then followed you again, so, hopefully that’ll work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

