non fiction

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

If you’re a Gilmore Girls fan, you’re gonna like this.

I have previously mentioned my love for Gilmore Girls. Personally, I think the show is completely brilliant. It’s sharp, smart and funny. So if you haven’t watched it yet, you should stop reading this and start watching it now. (Or you can check out my Gilmore Girls tag). So given my love for this series, I really wanted to read Lauren Graham’s book with it’s subtitle From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between. 

I’ll start by saying that it was so funny to witness that Lauren Graham is actually, in real life, Lorelai Gilmore. It’s so strange, but Lauren Graham’s personality (at least through this book) came off just as funny, bubbly and quirky as Lorelai’s. She seems like a genuinely nice person, and she had some really smart stuff to say, especially regarding looks and physical appearance in Hollywood.

The best part about this for me was all the stuff about Gilmore Girls. And that is maybe half the book. It’s so amazing to see that Lauren Graham loves this show as much as the fans do. It’s genuinely awesome to see that someone cares about the stuff they do and that they pour so much of themselves into it. I legitimately cried on the bus while listening to the audiobook (which I totally recommend!) because of the emotion that she managed to convey when it came to what the show means to her and what it meant for her to get to do it again.

However, the rest of the book fell flat to me. Where all the stuff about GG was sincere and honest, the rest felt flat and superficial. Although Graham has some interesting stuff to say, none of it really stuck with me. There just wasn’t anything for me to really sync my teeth into.

I would still recommend this one if you’re a GG nerd like me. And it was fun, just nothing spectacular or mind blowing.

Final verdict: 3 stars

xxx

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Goodreads | Tumblr | Books Amino | Twitter

Leave a Reply

