non fiction

This Modern Love by Will Darbyshire

I generally stay away from Youtuber books.

Don’t get me wrong I am a huge lover of all things Youtube: I watch a LOT of people on it and I genuinely love the platform as a whole. But ever since Youtubers started getting book deals, I was a bit apprehensive. Not to say that all of them shouldn’t write books, and I get that they have a large following, so publishers want to take advantage of that. I get it. I just don’t think it’s all that necessary. But I would love to know your opinions on Youtubers & their books.

However, Will Darbyshire’s book got my attention. I love Will’s videos. I love his aesthetic and I just find him to be an interesting person. And when I heard he was writing a book, I had no intention of picking it up, until I’ve seen what it was about.

I find the whole concept of it interesting – it’s about relationships. And my favorite thing to read about are, in fact, relationships. I love exploring the dynamics between characters and I love seeing how a connection between two people (or characters) develops and grows. So a book dedicated to relationships was up my alley. And it promised a focus on technology. So I was sold.

This Modern Love is split into three parts: the beginning, the middle and the end. The whole book consists of letters from people to their significant others and in various points of the relationship: at the start, when it’s all new or when it’s just a crush, then the middle, which is a fully fledged part of the relationship, to the end, which deals with breakups. I liked seeing how people felt and what they had to say to the people in their lives. Especially the end part. I am fascinated by breakups and the fact that we can pour so much into a person and a relationship, just to have it end and how the people who we loved so much can become just people of the past. So I loved the end. 

While I did enjoy the concept and the structure of the book, and I am glad I read it, this didn’t leave a strong impression on me. I would still recommend it, but it did not blow my mind or leave its mark. I especially expected more of it to be focused on the technology, the modern part of This modern love, but it really barely did. It was sprinkled in sporadically, but it was lacking in that department.

I would still recommend you check this out, because it’s different, it’s interesting and it’s a really quick read. I leave you with some of my favorite letters:

Hi Matt, 

I like you but I don’t want to ruin our friendship. I’m the one that sent you the rose that you left in class.

-Yasmin, Cheltenham

Dear Agustin,

It’s been five continuous years of me holding his hand, and still feeling like I’m reaching for yours. 

-Lorena, Argentina

Dear Darren,

I was a bit of a bitch, can we still be friends?

-Lauren, UK 

Final verdict: 3 stars

Be sure to tell me if you’ve read this & and your opinions on Youtuber books in general!

xxx

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Goodreads | Tumblr | Books Amino | Twitter

3 thoughts on “This Modern Love by Will Darbyshire

  1. Aw, this one sounds so interesting. I’ve actually never heard of this Youtuber. I’m also apprehensive about YouTuber books, but mainly fiction ones. I’m cool with non-fiction and biographies since that’s their life and feels more authentic or just funny books like Dan and Phil’s, but after the whole thing with Zoella, I’m pretty sure most of them don’t write their fiction works.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! I hated Zoe’s book so much, and I love her as a person and as a Youtuber. And I hated the whole ghost writting thing. But even with the non fiction ones, at this point, when everyone is writing them, I’m just like give it a rest, people! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

