Misc

On DNFing Books (aka My Name is Leon by Kit de Waal)

I had to give up on a book. 

Until recently, I finished every single book I started. Even if I hated the book and was completely disinterested in how the story wraps up, I still finished it. In my mind, I felt like if I did not finish the book I could not talk about it. And that’s just not true.

This year, one of my resolutions was to put down books that I just don’t enjoy and can’t find any redeeming qualities for. I decided that since my reading time is severely cut down due to my obligations at university, I have no time to spend on books that I am not enjoying reading, or at least have some interest (be it the outcome or the characters or whatever).

So I thought about it and I realized I can actually say something about a book I did not finish and that’s WHY I did not finish it. If I can pinpoint the thing that doesn’t make me want to read on, I am saying a lot about the experience of reading it. And I am stating the reasons the book did not personally work for ME. I can even recommend a book I did not finish. Because I can say what was it that did not work for myself, which doesn’t mean that it won’t work for someone else.

So the book I DNFed this month is My Name is Leon by Kit de Waal. I was beyond excited to read this. Everyone was buzzing about it and it was presented as a book about siblings, which is my favorite thing in the world. Sibling relationships are my absolute fave. I even got approved for an ARC of this and I was so excited.

But I did not now that this book is narrated by a child. In his childlike voice and with his childlike perception. I hate this. I find it so laborious to read, and honestly, it bores me to no end. This was one of the reasons I did not enjoy Room by Emma Donoghue as much as everyone else. It’s also narrated by a child and I could not stand it. It was the same with this book. That kind of voice just doesn’t sit well with me.

I can honestly recommend this book to you. If it seems interesting to you by the blurb, definitely pick it up. I had this specific thing that bothered me and frankly, the book was doomed from the start for me. But it might work for you. 

So I would like to ask you what’s your stance on DNFing? Do you do it? Do you stick with a book as I did until recently? If you have read My Name is Leon, I’d be interested in your thoughts on it as well.

xxx

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Goodreads | Tumblr | Books Amino | Twitter

* I received an ARC of the book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

2 thoughts on “On DNFing Books (aka My Name is Leon by Kit de Waal)

Leave a Reply

