fantasy · YA

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor 

Finally got around to reading this book.

This used to be so big back in the day, but I always kept putting it off. I don’t know exactly why, but it always got pushed aside for some other book. But I recently got a physical copy of the book and decided to finally pick it up and I really enjoyed it.

YA Fantasy always lacks something for me, but this book actually surprised me.
First of all, this is some of the most beautiful writing I have encountered in a YA book. Ever. Laini Taylor’s style is so superb and etheral and magical and I really loved it. It was the best part of the book for me.

Second of all, I really enjoyed the world building. I feel like it sometimes gets pushed aside in YA Fantasy, but the world in this book felt really… substantial. Like it wasn’t fully explored by any means, but we still learned a lot about it and it never felt muddled, it seemed fully fleshed out.

I also really loved the characters, especially Karou. I think she is a very strong character and I was surprised by how instantly I liked her. I also loved Zuzana’s character a lot and I just loved all the chimaera from Brimstone’s shop.

I had some trouble connecting to Akiva’s character. I just found him intense without anything to hold up that intensity. I just found him a bit hollow.

Also, this book has insta love in it. And this made me enjoy the book a lot less, because there was that note of ridiculousness that I could not ignored. If I have read this a couple of years ago, this would have been an instant favorite. However, some of the stuff mentioned really got on my nerves.

So, I would definitely recommend this one, especially because of the gorgeous writing. I am interested to see where the story goes and how it unravels.

Final verdict: 3.75 stars

Let me know if you have read this and how you felt about it in the comments!

xxx

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Goodreads | Tumblr | Books Amino | Twitter | Instagram

6 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor 

  1. Yes, I loved this book as well! I think one of my favorite things about is how complex it is and also there’s war and politics (which are two of my fave fantasy things). 😍 I personally think the romance is less of a focus in the next two books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

