book recs · Misc

If You Liked This Book, Try This One Too

Recommendations based on stuff you already like.

These type of posts have been going around Booktube and the blogosphere for a while now, so I figured it was time I do one as well! The basic idea of this post is that I give recommendations based on stuff you liked – so if you like one of the books in the pair, chances are you might enjoy the other! I tried to represent a lot of different genres, so there’s something for everyone in here. I also tried to explain why I think the book is a good match for the other one, so if you liked that certain aspect of a book, you might enjoy my rec as well! Without further ado, let’s jump into it!

herbodyandotherparties

If you enjoyed the exploration of female agency and bodies through short stories in Machado’s Her Body and Other Parties, I think you will also love those same themes explored in Kat Howard’s A Cathedral of Myth and Bone. Both fantastic and highly recommended!

menexplain

If you enjoy really well written feminist essays in vein of Solnit’s Men Explain Things to Me, but want something more diverse and nuanced, then Abdulali’s What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape is a great choice. Really impactful, honest and well written.

childrenofbloodandbone

If you enjoyed the Avatar-esque world and magic system of Children of Blood and Bone, be sure to check out Truthwitch as well – some of the best world-building and magic systems in YA Fantasy can be found in these two novels!

liesoflocke

If you enjoyed the fast-paced nature, the character banter and their relationships in The Lies of Locke Lamora, you might want to check out Traitor’s Blade! Both really fantastic Fantasy novels, with great characters and bromances as well!

littlefires

If you liked the backdrop of a small town/suburbia and the strong focus on family and relationships in Little Fires Everywhere, then I suggest you check out Did You Ever Have a Family. Really powerful and well-written novels that explore how an event affects both families and their communities.

thehatinggame

Finally, if you liked the slow burn, hate-to-love romance in The Hating Game but want something even slower with better characters AND figure skating, I highly recommend From Lukov, With Love. It’s one of my absolute favorite romances ever!

add

And those are my book recommendations based on other books! I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know if you want to see more of these in the future!

                                                                                                                   signature

xxx

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Come hang out with me:

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Goodreads |Facebook| Tumblr| Twitter | Instagram|Pinterest

*Vectors graphics designed by Freepik

 

12 thoughts on “If You Liked This Book, Try This One Too

  1. I really agree with children of blood and bone and truthwitch! I will definitely check out some of your recommendations!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, definitely saving this because there are SO MANY books here I want to read! I totally agree with The Hating Game/Lukov. I just read Lukov for the first time the other day and omg what have I been doing with my life?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.