book recs · Misc

If You Liked This Book, Try This One Too Volume II

Recommendations based on stuff you already like.

The basic idea of this post is that I give recommendations based on stuff you liked – so if you like one of the books in the pair, chances are you might enjoy the other! I tried to represent a lot of different genres, so there’s something for everyone in here. I also tried to explain why I think the book is a good match for the other one, so if you liked that certain aspect of a book, you might enjoy my rec as well!

If you want to see the first volume of the post, click HERE. Without further ado, let’s jump into it!

soc

If you are looking to branch out from YA Fantasy into Adult, Mistborn is a great place to start. Moreover, if you enjoyed the heist element of Six of Crows, Mistborn does that too. Plus you get a cool band of thieves coming together to overturn a dark lord (much like in Six of Crows) and all of them are fantastic characters, who have great interactions!

americanroyals

Hear me out. If you liked the drama and the angst of Gossip Girl, and similar CW shows, you have to try American Royals. Especially if you like to get invested into ships and just enjoy the completely wild and over the top plots, I highly recommend it. Plus, ROYALS. It’s so good.

inkheart

If you enjoyed Inkheart as a kid (or an adult!), you have to try The Ten Thousand Doors of January. It’s the same celebration of books and stories, with magical worlds right at your fingertips, with the same accent on family and belonging. It’s so good and it’s the perfect match for Inkheart.

burialrites

If you enjoyed the atmosphere and writing in Burial Rites, as well as the exploration of womanhood and community, you should try reading Cala!

illuminae

If you liked the Sci-Fi elements of Illuminae, as well as the banter between characters and the snarky AI, you will love Skyward! It’s a Sci-Fi, action-packed story, with a sentient spaceship, so it totally works as a match for Illuminae.

add

And those are my book recommendations based on other books! I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know if you think these recommendations are good, or give me a recommendation of your own!

                                                                                                                   signature

xxx

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Come hang out with me:

Follow me on Bloglovin’ | Goodreads |Facebook| Tumblr| Twitter | Instagram|Pinterest

*Vectors graphics designed by Freepik

 

14 thoughts on “If You Liked This Book, Try This One Too Volume II

    1. Burial Rites is definitely a better book, but I think Cala was a great debut (I gave it 3.5 stars) and it reminds me so much of Burial Rites in tone and atmosphere. And most of the stuff that I did not enjoy in Cala is mostly due to the kind of reader I am than it is the book’s fault.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I DNFd Mistborn once but definitely wanna try again.. and your comparison with SoC makes me more hopeful 😊😊
    And Gossip Girl and American Royals is just perfect.. I remember writing the same thing in my review 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ya… I read adult fantasy very sparingly, so it definitely felt very different to me… the next time I’m gonna push through and hopefully I’ll enjoy it as much as everyone else does 😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I’ve liked most of the first column books you list (everything but Burial Rites, which is still waiting on my shelf) so I appreciate the recommendations. I don’t think I’ve read anything from the second column yet, but a few of them are on my TBR, so I’ll be excited to see whether they work as well for me!

    Like

  3. Great concept for a post! I’m not familiar with Burial Rites or Cala but I’ve added Burial Rites now! The Ten Thousand Doors of January is already in my TBR so why not Inkheart?! Thanks so much for this. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.